Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Exactly one year ago today, I wrote the first post in this blog.  You can read that initial post here if you feel so inclined.  I just did, and it feels as if it were written lifetimes ago by someone very different. This past year has been one of change and life and death and growth and, well, everything that goes along with being human, I guess.  And yes, yoga too.

My relationship with yoga has changed over this past year. I have come to see it as more than just a series of asanas, more than the practice on the mat, more even than the underlying philosophy of yoga.

Yoga, I have discovered, is about how I live. It is about how I choose to act and re-act.  It is about how I interact with my self, with others, with the environment, with the community – on both a local and global scale.  Yoga is more than breathing and practicing on the mat and chanting and meditating.  Yoga is also found in the daily things: the simple shared moments of laughter and pain, the small joys of cat comfort and wagging dog tails, morning espresso and dark chocolate and memories of rhubarb pie for breakfast.

Yoga, I think, is just another metaphor for Life.

What does that mean for this blog?  No worries, I will still be blogging about yoga – the asanas, the eight fold path, the philosophy.  If that’s why you read, those things will still be here.  What else will be here is the evolution of my journey, the unfolding of my yoga, the places where lines between this and that are blurring.  I am …. becoming.

Whatever that means.

It means a name change, for one thing.  I have changed the name of the blog from “A Yoga Year” to “Living Yoga” to better reflect this unfolding journey.  As you can see, I am also in the process of changing the look, going for more simplicity and clarity.  (Yes, I am clearing out the clutter on many levels these days…)  I have updated the about pages, and will probably add a page that will make it easier to find related posts.

I am not a big one for new year’s resolutions; time is an artificial, albeit useful, construct after all.  Still, it is a nice opportunity to reflect, to renew, and to assess where we are and where we choose to go.  I am spending time these days doing exactly that ~

It is a blessing to be able to write this blog, to share this journey with so many of you. I am grateful for your presence in my life.  I wish you all great joy, and may the new year bring great beauty to your lives.  May you know peace in the midst of your chaos, and creative chaos in the midst of too much order, and through it all may you always know that you are loved.

~ Many Blessings ~

 

