Tags

, , ,

You know how the maxim goes:
When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.

Really?  Ok, I’m ready now.  Hello?  Anybody there?

Right.  You ever feel like that?  Just so certain you are ready, but where the heck is the guidance?  Hmm.  Maybe sometimes the absence of the teacher IS the teacher.

Finding a yoga teacher that “fits” can be difficult.  Over the last year or so, I’ve been in many different places, trying out many different yoga classes.  Different teachers, different styles – there is something to be learned from all of them.  Traveling includes the opportunity for diversity…  and diversity can be very good for your personal practice.  And personal practice is super for travel – you know you can always depend on yourself, even if there is no yoga anywhere within miles of your current location.

These days, I am looking for more consistency than diversity.  I need focus and precision in my practice, with a quality of heartfelt discipline. I want the passion and “hardness” of a physical yang practice, yet at the same time, I am drawn to a yin practice, with plenty of restorative poses and meditation.

I am looking for a good teacher, a new challenge, a studio that feels like home again.  While I am attending a couple of classes a week here, I haven’t yet found the “right” place to be.  Still, it is good to be back in a class.  My personal daily practice calls me back too, calling me to that center place, a place from which I can lead the rest of my life.

Maybe my ideal yoga teacher will appear when I am ready.  Or maybe not.  Maybe my teachers are here, and all around.  I only need to look around at my life to see the many opportunities to learn, the many people to learn from, and the many opportunities to practice my yoga.

Life is amazing that way.

teachers

My Teachers

What about you? Where do you find your teachers? What do you look for in a yoga teacher, or a yoga class?

