Tags

, ,

I am thinking today of the teachings from Thich Nhat Hanh, a Vietnamese Buddhist Monk.   His teachings are simple ~ mindfulness, presence, compassion, peaceful action, smiling.    Yes, smiling.

“Smiling is very important. If we are not able to smile, then the world will not have peace. It is not by going out for a demonstration against nuclear missiles that we can bring about peace.  It is with our capacity of smiling, breathing, and being peace that we can make peace.”     — Thich Nhat Hanh

In his teachings and in his practice, Thich Nhat Hanh often invites a bell to ring.  The bell can bring us back to our breath, back to the present moment, back to our smile.

Today, while driving in an impatient city,  people around me chaotically  hurrying from here to there, incessantly honking horns, I let go of my own impatience.  I listened for the horns, and they became bells of mindfulness.

HONK!    Breathing in, I know that I am breathing in.
HONK!   Breathing out, I know that I am breathing out.
HONK!   Breathing in, I am aware of the present moment.
HONK!  Breathing out, I know that this is a wonderful moment.

It brought a smile to my face.    Maybe horns of mindfulness can reduce road rage and encourage peace.

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu

May all beings everywhere be happy and free from suffering,
and may my thoughts, words, and actions contribute in some way to that happiness and freedom.

May we all know Peace within our hearts,
and cultivate peace within our lives.

 

This is a beautiful video with Thich Nhat Hanh – I hope it brings a smile to your face ~

