Tags

, , , ,

Did anyone notice my lack of posts the last 3 days?   Did that silence speak as loudly to you as it did to me?  Sigh.  The words to an old song float through my mind – “pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again” – wise words to those (namely me) who fall off of the commitment wagon.

It’s not so much that I fell off the wagon ~ I just sort of slid off-center a bit, making the wagon wander wildly around the road. What might have been well organized words scattered and slid, making for pretty poor posting material.   My yoga practice suffered a few bumps and bruises too. My asana practice?  Yes, well, a few stretches here and there, a half-hearted attempt at a sun salutation or two, deep breaths through out the day, and a few moments here and there of mindful breathing.

I could blame it partly on sleep deprivation, partly on the stress of a current situation, partly on my lack of focused attention, partly on busy and sometimes chaotic days, but mostly all of those ‘partly-s’ are just (ahem) excuses.

Time to buck up, buckle down, get focused.

Tonight, I attended a yoga class that included a wonderful blend of hip openers and hamstring releases, shoulder openers, balances, and just a touch of restorative work.  We included partner work on Ardha Chandrasana (half-moon pose) and I discovered a new way to open the pose for greater balance and strength.  Perfect for what I needed today.

Where are you in your daily practice? Whatever commitment you made to yourself, how is it going?

Sometimes, even in our desire to be the best we can be, we let go and fall.  It is ok.  It is important to remember that even when we fall, we don’t fail.  We simply take a deep breath, pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and start again.

Just ask Frank.  🙂

