Tags

, ,

“Practice means to perform, over and over again in the face of all obstacles, some act of vision, of faith, of desire.” — Martha Graham

The above quote showed up in my mailbox yesterday as the lead in to another blog post – Lila Donnolo in her blog lookinforloveinalloftheplaces had written a timely post about practice and just doing it.

Must be something in the air.

There are always obstacles.  I wrote a short post yesterday on “just doing it” (whatever our “it” is)  because it was all I could think to write.   Today, reading the above quote I am reminded that making my commitment to daily yoga, and to daily posting really is an act of faith.

I don’t know each day how or when I will get my yoga practice in.  My writing time here is limited, piecemeal, and late nights are not my easiest time.

I am not alone in this, I know.   We all have obstacles, things that could keep us from our lives if we let them.   But to act anyway, and to have the faith in ourselves that we can always find a way through (in/around/under) our obstacles is to live up to the vision of who we want to be, and who, in fact, we already are.

Life is practice.

Sometimes, our practice looks a bit different than we think it should, but we practice anyway.

Breathe in, breathe out.  This too is yoga.


