Tags

, , , ,

Ladies and Gentlemen, your captain has turned on the yoga sign.  Please feel free to stretch your way about the cabin.

I am a big fan of yoga. No matter where I am, I can usually figure out how to get in at least some asana practice.  Yoga in airports?  You bet.  On the airplane?  Absolutely.

Traveling is when you need it most…. the stress of those security lines, the carry-on bags that have us walking crooked, the sense of being trapped in the tight airplane seat with very little room to move.   Airplane travel nearly always leaves us feeling kinked up, achy, sore, and fatigued.

Yoga helps.  Simple stretches and movements can help keep your blood moving and your body relatively ache free.  You just have to be willing to do it…. never mind the looks and comments you may get.   Just share the love – teach your neighbor a yoga move or two!

As you may have guessed, my yoga practice today will be while traveling.  Not much room in those airplane seats – but you can always find a way to move.  My seated yoga includes neck rolls, side stretches (yes, it is possible to do without running into your neighbor) simple twists, ankle rotations, and a modified seated pigeon.  I also find ways to do modified chest openers, and stretch my torso upwards to lengthen my spine.

In the airport, so many more options!  Headstands (absolutely! – find a good corner and watch the people from this view!), full pigeon, and an absolute must after traveling: Viparita Karani (Legs Up the Wall Pose).   This trip, I don’t have long layovers, so I won’t be doing much in the airport itself, but I will let you know what I wind up doing where.

Perhaps in a later post, I can share some travel yoga photos, but for now, if you are doing any traveling, here’s a borrowed video with some simple airplane yoga poses.  Enjoy!

 

